Breaking News

Featherstone Rovers Logo

FEATHERSTONE Rovers boasts a rich and proud history, having being formed officially in 1902. Having started out life in the Wakefield & District League, and then later reforming, in 1921, the club went on to scale great heights - on and off the field.



1902 - Featherstone Rovers Rugby League Football Club is formed at the Railway Hotel on Station Lane. George Johnson becomes the first Chairman, and Charles Umpleby lends some land for a pitch at the Athletic Grounds off Post Office Road.
1903 - The club joins their first league, the Wakefield & District League, and wins it at the first attempt.
1906 - The club becomes the first and only junior or amateur team ever to reach the quarter-finals of the Challenge Cup.
1906 - The club disbands after a mass exodus of players to richer clubs.
1908 - The club reforms and continues at Post Office Road.
1912 - The club merges with Featherstone NUFC.
1916 - The club closes down as World War I takes hold.
1919-1921 - The club wins all possible honours in the junior leagues.


THE EARLY DAYS - 1921-1950

Part 2/5. 1921 to 1950. The early days.

1921 - Featherstone Rovers Rugby League Football Club is accepted into the senior league of the Northern Union (soon to be renamed the Rugby Football League).
1923 - Billy Clements becomes the club’s first county footballer.
1923 - Jack Hirst becomes the club’s first international footballer.
1928 - The club reaches its first Championship final (v Swinton) and Yorkshire Cup final (v Leeds).
1928 - Tommy Askin becomes the club’s first ever Great Britain Lions tourist.
1929 - Jack Hirst becomes the first player to score 100 tries for the club.
1933 - Jim Denton retires after a record 440 senior appearances for the club, the first player to score 1,000 points for the club.
1935 - The club is used as the setting for a major film, Where’s George?
1937 - Abraham Bullock takes over from George Johnson as club President.
1940 - The club wins the Yorkshire Cup for the first time (against Wakefield Trinity).


THE GOLDEN ERA - 1950-1973

1950 - Featherstone Rovers Rugby League Football Club appoints Eric Batten as head coach.
1952 - The club, inspired by Batten and the boot of Freddie Miller, reaches its first Challenge Cup final (against Workington Town).
1959 - The club, led by skipper Joe Mullaney, wins its second Yorkshire Cup final (against Hull).
1959 - A record crowd of 17,589 watches a match at Post Office Road (against St Helens).
1959 - The club beats Australia for the first time 23-15.
1963 - The club, led by Don Fox, beats Australia for the second time 23-17.
1967 - The club, led by Malcolm Dixon, wins its first Challenge Cup final (against Barrow) and Carl Dooler wins the Lance Todd Trophy
1970 - The club appoints Peter Fox as head coach
1970 - Jimmy Thompson represents the club in the World Cup Final as Australia beat Great Britain.
1972 - Steve Nash represents the club in the World Cup Final as Great Britain drew with Australia in France and won the cup.
1973 - The club, led by John Newlove wins its second Challenge Cup final (against Bradford) and Steve Nash wins the Lance Todd Trophy. Cyril Kellett kicked a Wembley record eight goals.



1974 - Featherstone Rovers Rugby League Football Club reaches its fourth Challenge Cup final (against Warrington).
1977 - The club, coached by Keith Cotton, is crowned League Champions for the first time in its history.
1977 - Jimmy Thompson and Peter Smith represent the club in the World Cup Final as Australia beat Great Britain in Sydney.
1979 - The club is relegated for first time.
1980 - The club wins the Second Division Championship.
1983 - The club’s finest hour, coached by Alan Agar, wins its third Challenge Cup final (against Hull) and David Hobbs wins the Lance Todd Trophy.
1986 - Steve Quinn becomes the first (and only so far) player ever to kick 1,000 goals and score 2,000 points for the club.
1986 - A New main stand is constructed after the old one is damaged by fire.
1987 - The club is relegated for the second time. The club plays its first ever fixture against Papua New Guinea.
1988 - The club, led by Deryck Fox and Peter Smith, is promoted and reaches the play-off final at Old Trafford (against Oldham)
1992 - The club is relegated for the third time.
1993 - The club, inspired by Brendon Tuuta, wins the Second Division Championship for the second time, and the playoff final at Old Trafford (against Workington).
1993 - Paul Newlove sets a new try scoring record for the club with 48 in a season.
1995 - The club reaches its 13th (and most recent) Challenge Cup semi-final (against Leeds).
1995 - The club loses its top flight place after Super League is born.



1996 - Featherstone Rovers Rugby League Football Club becomes a limited company after decades as a members’ club.

1996 - Steve Molloy becomes the club’s 16th and last Great Britain international, and the 16th and last Lions tourist.

1998 - The club reaches the Grand Final Play-Off Final (v Wakefield Trinity).

2005 - The club is relegated to the third level for the first time.

2007 - The club wins promotion to the second level in a play-off final at Headingley (against Oldham).

2010-2012 - The club, led by Stuart Dickens, reaches three-successive Championship finals, winning one, under head coach Daryl Powell.

2012 - Liam Finn sets a new world record of 41 successful, consecutive goal kicks.

2015 - The club opens two new grandstands built by volunteers. 

2018 - Featherstone became the first club to beat Toronto Wolfpack in Toronto and went on to lift the Championship Shield.

Fostering Featherstone Rovers Advert