Breaking News


News Article



Featherstone Rovers crowned their 2019 Player of the Year last night at the LD Nutrition Stadium.

 Over 250 people packed themselves into the Legends Suite as we took a look back at a fantastic 2019 season that has seen the Rovers team reach the Betfred Championship Grand Final and come 40 minutes from promotion.

The event was hosted by BBC Radio Leeds’ voice of Rugby League, James Deighton.

To kick off the night, fans were treated to a highlights package showing key moments from the 2019 season before head coach, Ryan Carr and captain, James Lockwood took to the stage to thank fans and give their take on the season.

The first award of the evening saw the club recognise the Top Try Scorer in 2019 which despite a late charge from Dane Chisholm saw Cameron King’s mark of 18 top the charts for the Rovers.

Next up was the award for the Rovers Champagne Moment of the Year. With so many special moments throughout the 2019 season, the award ended up going to the Rovers Summer Bash victory over York City Knights giving the club their first win at the Blackpool event.

Our Try of the Season was a tough decision but Conor Carey’s acrobatic touchdown against Toronto at the LD Nutrition Stadium took home the award.

After a break for Pie and Peas, we presented out Clubman of the Year award. Featherstone Rovers would be nothing without the amazing staff and volunteers that keep the club ticking. This years winner Paul Fowler is one such volunteer and he was presented with the award.

One of the highly contested awards of the evening was the Young Player of the Year, Jack Render and Callum McLelland have both had fantastic seasons but ultimately it was Alex Sutcliffe who took home the accolade.

Hitman of the Year saw the club reward the best defensive player in the squad as Josh Walters was picked by the coaches.

Our fans at Featherstone are incredibly important to whatever we succeed as they are the ones that help keep the club running. The Supporters’ Player of the Year saw fans vote week on week on the Rovers’ social media before we combined those totals with the TotalRL forum’s score to find our winner. The enigma that is Dane Chisholm took home the award. 

CEO, Davide Longo then took to the stage to present a Special Recognition Award. Mark Campbell was presented with a board that will hang in the Legend’s Suite to commemorate his incredible work that he has done for Featherstone Rovers in his position of Chairman over the past 10 years.

The club then honoured the players who had made their debut for Featherstone Rovers in 2019 by presenting them with a framed certificate that contains their heritage number.

The award for Players’ Player of the Year saw the 2019 Rovers squad pick their choice for the team’s best player. After a fabulous season, Brad Day took home the award with every one of his peers picking him in their top three players.

Our final presentation of the evening saw us crown our 2019 Player of the Year. The Featherstone coaches had the tough job of selecting just one player to receive the award. They choice the club captain James Lockwood who has led from the front in 2019 and taken his game to another level since taking up the role of captain.

Featherstone Rovers Player of the Year Award Winners

Top Try Scorer – Cameron King
Champagne Moment of the Year – Summer Bash Win
Try of the Season – Conor Carey vs Toronto (H)
Clubman of the Year – Paul Fowler
Young Player of the Year – Alex Sutcliffe
Hitman of the Year – Josh Walters
Supporters’ Player of the Year – Dane Chisholm
Special Recognition Award – Mark Campbell
Players’ Player of the Year – Brad Day
Player of the Year – James Lockwood